Empowered Way
Empowered Way Podcast
Why Travel to Distant Places?
1
0:00
-2:53

Why Travel to Distant Places?

Three reasons you will discover yourself.
1
person holding I haven't been everywhere but it's on my list card
Photo by WanderLabs on Unsplash

Hello Dear Ones:

I have been traveling for the last several weeks. As I re-enter my normal reality, I am amused at myself. I have moved through time and space for thousands of miles, only to return home and find that I have changed.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” -Anonymous

Travel is my way to experience a book of adventures, one step and passport stamp at a time. I turned the pages of my life’s book three different ways.

My Insecurities and Fears Are My Travel Companions

I brought all of my insecurities with me. The bag they were in was not weighed or gate-checked, but they were always present, waiting to catch me in an unguarded moment.

  • Feeling awkward when ordering food, using hand gestures and pointing instead of speaking French;

  • Eating alone in a busy restaurant when everyone else has a companion;

  • Feeling frustrated when my expectations weren’t met and behaving like the caricature of the “Ugly American.”

The pull of adventure and new experiences was offset by my insecurities. Finally, I decided that I was here to learn, grow, and become more of myself. Magically, the insecurities that kept me in the AirBnB instead of eating out faded away.

The release of my fears allowed me to experience the place, culture, and people.

My Energy Influences Those Around Me

Walking up to the hostess at Cafe Bleu, located in front of Chartres Cathedral, I took a deep breath and asked, “Parlez-vous anglais?”

She looked at me and shook her head, holding up a menu and leading me to a table for two. I felt irritation rise up in me but then took a deep breath and said to myself, “I am you. You are me. We are One. All is well.” This is my go-to mantra to calm myself and it always works.

My energy shifted by the time the young server asked if I wanted something to drink. I smiled at her and asked gently, “Parlez-vous anglais?”

She shook her head and I nodded. Even though I knew she didn’t understand me, I looked her in the eyes and said, “We’ll have fun getting through this together.”

She smiled and I asked for a glass of “vin de blanc.”

It became a game of communication, which we both enjoyed. By the end of the meal, she was laughing and relaxed. I gave her a tip and another smile.

As I walked away, humming to myself, I knew I had just proven an important principle:

Everything is energy.

Energy is the Universal language of humanity.

Change your energy to love and unity and those around you will feel it.

Embrace the Journey, Not the Destination

My journey from Glasgow, Scotland to Paris and Chartres, France contained many opportunities for delays, lost bags, and missed connections. Instead of focusing on what could happen, I envisioned how I wanted it to unfold.

I have several affirmations I use when traveling. When I am upset or frustrated, these affirmations remind me to release control and move with the flow.

  • “I travel from one destination to another with grace and ease.”

  • “My day is full of gratitude and abundance.”

  • “I have all the resources I need.”

Many times during the travel day from Scotland to France, I asked my “travel angels” for guidance. For example, I had fifteen minutes to catch the train from Paris to Chartres. I arrived at Gare Montparnasse and entered the building a bit anxious to make the connection.

The atmosphere inside the train station was chaotic and urgent. People were moving quickly in all directions, trying to make their train. The signs were not clear to me and I had no idea which way to go.

Time to call on my travel angels. I found a quiet spot away from the chaos and asked them to guide me in the right direction. After several heartbeats, I knew which way to go. Up the escalators to my right and down the corridor.

As I sat on the train, I thanked my travel angels for their guidance.

The Takeaways

Step away from your daily routine and go see the world. It’s a beautiful place and you will discover more layers of yourself and how you see the world.

  • When you embrace your insecurities and move forward anyway, they fade.

  • When you intentionally set your energy, people respond. Energy is a universal language of humanity.

  • When you don’t allow the external world to dictate your experience, you return to your creative power.

The Book of your Life isn’t complete until you have experienced the adventure of travel. Pull out your passport, book your plane and hotels, and go see the world. The stories you tell of your travels are part of the Book of Life.

“Of all the books in the world. The best stories are found between the pages of a passport.” - Anonymous

To your prosperity,

Kathryn

Share Empowered Way

1 Comment
Empowered Way
Empowered Way Podcast
Learn how to live being human. Your being informs your doing.
When you connect inside, you experience a larger presence that begins to inform and guide you. Your heart opens and you begin to know the depth of love that created you. This is Empowered Way.