Empowered Way
Empowered Way Podcast
How to Unravel Spending Habits
0:00
-6:08

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Empowered Way

How to Unravel Spending Habits

Stop sabotaging yourself in 3 steps

Hello Empowered Wayers -

Are you sabotaging yourself with spending habits that leave you poor and wanting more?

Instead of taking a second job, look at the motivation behind your spending decisions. There is a simple, 3 step process that I describe in today’s episode of Empowered Way Radio.

You are not caught in a trap (unless you think you are). All it takes is willingness to change and awareness of the emotional energy that is behind your decision to buy a purple cat statue. 😻

As part of the 3 step process, I suggest to create a mind map of the small, micro decisions that led you to the purchase. If you are like me, breaking things down visually helps to find the connections and the common threads.

An example from my own life is shared below.

How this process helped me

The 3 Step Process to unravel a spending habit is:

  1. Write down the small, micro decisions you made leading up to the purchase.

  2. Identify the emotions or the need behind the decisions.

  3. Keep asking, “Why?” until you arrive at the core emotion.

Take a piece of paper or use an app to diagram the pattern.

For example, here is the mind map I created after buying another self-help book from Amazon (I am a book addict and I am always looking to add to my library):

Once I identified my fears about not being good enough, I can sit with those emotions and allow them to speak to me. As I continued to raise my awareness of this particular spending habit, I discovered I no longer wanted to buy that next book. The need to stay in student mode was gone.

The more aware you are of why you spend money, the easier it becomes to make changes.

Please let me know if the comments if this process was helpful.

Love & Light,

Kathryn

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Empowered Way to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Empowered Way
Empowered Way Podcast
Learn how to live being human. Your being informs your doing.
When you connect inside, you experience a larger presence that begins to inform and guide you. Your heart opens and you begin to know the depth of love that created you. This is Empowered Way.